Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Perkins County receives secretarial disaster designation PDF Print E-mail

Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Executive Director, Dan Steinkruger, announced eight counties have been designated as primary natural disaster areas due to the ongoing drought affecting Nebraska.
Those counties are: Chase, Frontier, Hayes, Hitchcock, Keith, Lincoln, Perkins and Red Willow.
The counties were declared a secretarial disaster April 9 based on the U. S. Drought Monitor drought intensity value.
“The eight counties that received the Primary Secretarial Disaster Designation due to the drought intensity value (Extreme -D3) affecting their small grain grazing,” he said.
With the D3 classification, eligible livestock producers that graze small grain acres are eligible to apply for 2014 Livestock Forage Disaster Program payments.
There are 10 counties in Nebraska that are contiguous to the counties receiving the primary declaration in Nebraska. These counties are also eligible for certain disaster assistance due to drought. The 10 counties are: Arthur, Custer, Dawson, Deuel, Dundy, Furnas, Logan, Garden, Gosper and McPherson.
Two additional counties in Nebraska are contiguous to the counties in Kansas receiving the primary declaration. These counties are also eligible for certain disaster assistance due to drought. The two counties are: Harlan and Franklin.
This designation authorizes Emergency (EM) Loans for eligible producers. Steinkruger stated, “Producers are encouraged to contact their local FSA Service Center for detailed information about available programs and updated Secretarial Disaster Designations.”
In addition to the Emergency (EM) Loan Program, the FSA has other loan programs and disaster assistance programs which can be considered in assisting farmers to recover from their losses.
Contact the local FSA Service Center or access additional information about FSA Disaster Assistance and Farm Loan programs at
While this release pertains to the availability of FSA programs, other federal agencies such as FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) and SBA (Small Business Administration) may also have assistance to the public. Information is available from these two agencies at the following websites: and