Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Congressman Smith announced 2010-2011 Youth Advisory Council PDF Print E-mail

Nebraska Congressman Adrian Smith recently announced the names of the Third District high school students who will serve on his Youth Advisory Council for the 2010-2011 academic school year.

Perkins County High School students Ashley Kemling, Emily Kiolbasa, Christian Miyamoto, Stephanie Reichert, Debbie Dahlkoetter were among those students named.

Smith’s Youth Advisory Council is a forum for high school students to discuss throughout the school year opinions, thoughts, and concerns with Smith about local and federal issues. 

Through in-person meetings and other contacts, the council provides students an opportunity for involvement and insight into their government and communities.

The council is open to high school students who are nominated by their teachers, principals, or guidance counselors. For more information, interested parties are encouraged to contact Smith’s Grand Island office at 308-384-3900 or visit Smith’s website at

“I have always been impressed by the interest shown by Nebraska students to be part of the solution to the challenges our country faces,: Smith said.  “My Youth Advisory Council provides a forum to discuss the concerns of young Nebraskans and how they can help their local communities, while also offering the opportunity for me to hear their thoughts on issues facing the federal government.”