Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Village and ESU seats open—filing deadline is Aug. 2 PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Rahn

Managing Editor

Unless some non-incumbents meet the filing deadline in August, two of the villages in Perkins County will need to be filled with write-ins come election time in November.

Last Thursday, July 15 was the deadline for incumbents to file. No one filed that day. 

Venango has three open seats on the trustee board. Only incumbent Dennis Ekdahl had previously filed. 

The other incumbents, Dale Grothman and William (Dude) Tines, have chosen not to file for re-election.

The Elsie Village Board has two trustee seats open. Previously, Brenda Metcalf filed for re-election. 

The other incumbent, Larry Biesecker, did not file last week. 

Non-incumbents wishing to step forward have until Monday, Aug. 2 to meet the filing deadline for election to one of the open seats on the two village boards.

Madrid’s two incumbents, Michelle Ross and Mark Heil, have already filed for the two open seats on the board. Non-incumbents are welcome to meet the same filing deadline of Aug. 2 if interested in serving on the board.

ESU 16 has open seats in District 9 and District 11. Incumbents Norma Mayer (Dist. 9) and Dayton Reichman (Dist. 11) have filed for re-election. 

Non-incumbents interested the open ESU 16 seats have the same filing deadline of Aug. 2 for the November General Election.