Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Write-in candidates to decide three village board seats PDF Print E-mail

By Tim Linscott, Managing Editor

For the second time in six years the Village of Elsie is in a quandary when it comes to finding members to fill out the village board.
After the Aug. 1 deadline for incumbents to file for village boards neither of the two incumbents, Larry Biesecker and Brenda Metcalf, registered to run for those seats again. No non-incumbents have filed either.
In 2008 a similar situation happened when no one filed for three village board spots. Write-in candidates were counted and over 25 different people in Elsie received votes.
Justin Hutcheson, Zach Geisselmann and Colby Cook were all elected via write-in vote and are still on the village board.
Write-in candidates could decide the two village board spots open this election. The top two write-in candidates would be declared the new village board members and receive a letter from the canvassing board declaring their victory.
If the top two persons voted in by write-in measure do not want the position, then a vacancy would be declared.         The village board would then appoint new members. If  there is no quorum to appoint new members because of the vacancies, then the Nebraska Secretary of State’s office would hold a special election (statute 32-569).
In Madrid, there are two positions available on the village board and only one candidate. Incumbent Mark Heil is running again for his position but the second position will be voted in by write-in candidate.
Christi Ogg did not re-register for her position on the Madrid Village Board.