Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Annual meeting for Midwest Electric March 20 PDF Print E-mail

By Tim Linscott
Managing Editor
The 67th annual meeting of Midwest Electric Cooperative Corporation will be on Thursday, March 20 at 5:30 p.m.
The event will take place at the Perkins County High School in Grant, beginning with registration and then the meal.
Also throughout the evening will be the election of directors, a guest speaker, a cash drawing and door prizes.
Three directors will be elected for Districts 3, 6 and 8.
Running for election in District 3 will be incumbent Greg Fleecs of Sutherland and non-incumbents Kent Anderson and Jacob Spurgin, both of rural Paxton.
In District 6 the incumbent, Shawn Turner, will run un-opposed.
There is no incumbent for District 8 and three people will be running for that position. They are Nick Hanson of Elsie, Randall Gengenbach and Brandon Kuenning, both of rural Grant.
The meal will consist of hot roast beef sandwiches, baby new potatoes, corn and ice cream cups served by the Youth Development Club.
Troy Bredenkap, general manager of the Nebraska Rural Electricity Association, will be making the trip from Lincoln to be guest speaker at this year’s meeting.
Several door prizes are slated to be given away, plus a cash prize of $2,000 will be awarded. The $2,000 drawing is for members only and the winner must be present to claim the prize.