Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Volunteers needed for Mercy Meals MegaPack event set on June 22 PDF Print E-mail

By Sheri Hink-Wagner
The Wauneta Breeze
Mercy Meals of Southwest Nebraska, located in Wauneta, is looking for volunteers for their MegaPack event on Saturday, June 22.
The organization has packaged 209,400 meals since its incorporation in September 2012 and leaders have set a goal of reaching 250,000 meals by the end of the summer.
Mercy Meals utilizes volunteers to package nutritious meals consisting of soy powder, rice, dried vegetables and chicken flavoring.
Meals packaged by Mercy Meals’ volunteers are highly nutritious and carry a cost of only $0.10 per serving–which includes food and packaging materials.
The food packaged at Mercy Meals is sent on to people in need both domestically and throughout the world. The meals are shipped free of charge via the Orphan Grain Train.
Groups and individuals from throughout southwest Nebraska and beyond have helped package meals to date including volunteers from Imperial, Hayes Center, Palisade,
Hamlet, Wauneta, McCook, Sun City, Ariz., and South Wales, United Kingdom–just to name a few.
The pride and appreciation the group holds for its many volunteers is clear in the group members’ voices when they speak about what has been accomplished in the past year.
“We’ve been overwhelmed by the support we’ve received from the area so far,” said Jan Coone, Mercy Meals board member and volunteer. “We’re looking forward to the MegaPack event and would love to engage new volunteers or see old friends.”
There are three time slots available to volunteers during the MegaPack event on June 22–from 9 to 11 a.m. MT/10 a.m. to 12 noon CT, 1 to 3 p.m. MT/2 to 4 p.m. CT or 3 to 5 p.m. MT/4 to 6 p.m. CT.
Those interested in volunteering during the MegaPack event are encouraged to register on their website at www.mercymealsofsouthwestnebraska.org or by calling Janet Keiser at 308-394-5191 or Laurie Kerchal at 308-350-0975.