Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Coaches selected for All-star game PDF Print E-mail

The coaches have been selected for the 2013 West Nebraska All-Star Football Game. This marks the 35th year for the all-star game.
The game will be played Saturday, June 1 at Bearcat Stadium in Scottsbluff at 7 p.m. MDT.
Dan Lenners from Chase County High School will lead the West team. Lenners’ team finished the past season with a 6-4 record, losing to Boone Central in the second round of the Class C-1 playoffs. This is Coach Lenners second time serving as head coach for the West team, and his third time coaching in the game. He previously served as the head coach for the West team in 2008, and was an assistant coach in 2004.
The West assistant coaches are Chris Bailey from Mitchell High School, Jud Hall from Scottsbluff High School and Barry Swisher from Sioux City High Scool in Harrison.
Randy Geier from Wauneta-Palisade High School will lead the East team this year. This past season Geier’s team went undefeated and finished as the six-man state champions, defeating Sioux City 26-16. This will be Coach Geier’s second time as a coach in the West Nebraska All Star Game. He served as an assistant coach for the East team in 2007.
The East assistant coaches are Jeremy Epp from Southern Valley High School, Dustin Sealy from Arapahoe High School and Joe Frecks, also from Wauneta-Palisade High School.
A portion of the proceeds from the all-star games benefit many local charities including the Scotts Bluff County Volunteer Center.