Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Outcome of local races announced PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Rahn
Managing Editor
From city council and economic development to village trustees, cemetery and fire department issues, Perkins County voters exercised their rights during the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 6.
Several questions came before voters, including the Grant Economic Development Program proposition, Madrid Rural Fire District property tax, Elsie Cemetery District, and Ogallala School Bond.
Additionally, the United States elected a president, Nebraska chose a U.S. Senator, and local communities elected town boards and school boards.
A complete compilation of the unofficial election results appears in this week’s issue. Below are a few highlights of the outcome from various ballots:
Grant Economic Development Program
Residents of Grant voted in favor of the proposition to continue the economic development program by appropriating funds from the annual property tax as determined by the governing body, not to exceed $25,000 in any one program year.
Four hundred and twenty-nine Grant residents voted for the proposition; 112 voted against it.
The goals of the Grant Economic Development Program are to create jobs and generate employment opportunities, to expand labor markets of Grant and Perkins County, to attract new capital investment to the community, to broaden the tax base, to retain jobs, to assist existing businesses to be more competitive and profitable, and to provide economic diversification to ensure economic stability and vitality for the community of Grant and the surrounding area.
The program will be in existence for 10 years after the current program expires on Sept. 30, 2013.
Madrid Rural Fire District
A ballot initiative to allow the Madrid Fire Protection District to levy a property tax not to exceed 6.5 cents per one hundred dollars of taxable valuation passed in a 106 to 67 vote by residents of the district.
The purpose of the taxing authority for another five-year period is for the fire district’s general operation, construction, remodeling, repair, etc.
The fire district does not receive any tax or other financial support from Perkins County or any other source.
Venango Village
Four candidates vied for only two seats on the Venango Village Board of Trustees.
Nathaniel Dodson and John Bleavins defeated David Osborne and Troy Grothman to serve four-year terms on the board.
County Commissioner
Sid Colson ran uncontested for a second term as Dist. 1 Commissioner in Perkins County.
Other commissioners include James Deaver and Leon Pankonin.
Grant City Council
Incumbent candidate Tim Pofahl and new candidate Ben Long were the only filings for two seats on Grant City Council for an upcoming four-year term.
This will be Pofahl’s second term. Long takes the seat of Wayne Pick who did not enter the race.
They join councilmen Bob Tatum and Kirk York along with Mayor Mike Wyatt as the governing body of Grant.
Perkins County Schools
Three incumbents have been elected for four-year terms on the board of education for Perkins County Schools, including Jayson Bishop, Doug Beck and Shawn Turner.
Elsie Village
Elected to serve on the village board of trustees in Elsie for another four-year term are incumbents Colby Cook, Justin Hutcheson and Zach Geisselmann.
Madrid Village
Only one name, Albert Proctor, appeared on the election ballot for the Madrid Village Board of Trustees which had three open seats.
The top two write-ins were Tim Moore and Nick Ross.
Elsie Cemetery District
Voters in the Elsie Cemetery District gave approval to allow the district to levy a property tax not to exceed one cent per hundred dollars of taxable valuation for general operations, equipment and road maintenance, including the fiscal year 2017.