Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

PCHS National Honor Society inducts new members PDF Print E-mail

By Shania Metcalf
High School Correspondent
Membership in the National Honor Society is one of the highest honors that can be awarded to a high school student. The NHS has worked hard to bring the accomplishments of outstanding students to the attention of parents, teachers, peers, and community. Chapters in more than 12,500 high schools across the nation strive to give practical meaning to the Society’s goals of scholarship, leadership, service, and character.
The National Honor Society strives to recognize the total student, one who excels in many areas. Although membership guidelines must also meet national guidelines, local standards are set as well. The standards used for selection at Perkins County High School include a cumulative grade point average of 90 percent or better and continued involvement in at least two extracurricular activities. Members must also demonstrate evidence of leadership, service, and good character.
The current members in NHS for the 2011-2012 year are: Kristin Beck, Taylor Boldt, Seth Burge, Ashley Kemling (secretary), Trevor Lee, Tanya Metcalf (vice president), Christian Miyamoto, Tori Osler president), Gabrielle Patrick and Shalee Pollard.
The members newly inducted this year are : Brendon Barry, Michael Dreiling, Mark Hanson, Quinton Hite, Jessi Hoffert, Lacey Jensen, Janet Kuskie, Callie Meyer, Rachel Patrick, Michi Prante, Katie Rowley, Jake Sexson, Colton White, and Jessie Woodmancy
Deanne Bishop serves as the Chapter’s adviser.