Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Rotarians honored at annual picnic PDF Print E-mail

The Grant Rotary Club members met for their annual picnic at Pheasant Run Golf Course on Wednesday, Aug. 17.
Eric Gengenbach, Bryan Sestak and Garry Lawyer provided a steak dinner for the group of 26 members and 20 guests. For dessert, Darren Jensen brought a cake to celebrate Shannon’s birthday.
Following the meal and welcome by president, Jorje Geisert, three new members were inducted into the club in a ceremony conducted by Sergeant-at-Arms, Don Softley.
The new members are Shelby Day, Eric Gengenbach, and Adair Reese. Each received a packet containing their membership certificate and official Rotary pin.
With the sunset providing a beautiful backdrop, John Long invited eight members to come forward to receive a Paul Harris Fellowship.
In his presentation, Long explained the Paul Harris Fellowship is named for Paul Harris, who founded Rotary with three business associates in Chicago in 1905. The fellowship was established in his honor in 1957 to express appreciation for a contribution of $1000 to the humanitarian and educational programs of The Rotary Foundation. Those programs include an array of projects that save and invigorate the lives of people around the world and enhance international friendship and understanding.
Because of their giving, Americans move closer to a more peaceful world as CJ Rezac, Tobin Buchanan, Ann Burge, Donna Burge, Shaun Meyer, Bryan Sestak, Kenny Wykert and Shannon Jensen become a Paul Harris Fellow.
It is an incredible achievement for the local club that the award eight fellows.
Other persons present who have previously received a Paul Harris Fellow were also recognized. They include the late Bill Daiss (accepted by wife Jeanie), Jorje Geisert, Ron Kent, Garry Lawyer, John Long, Rick Salsman, and Don Softley.
Others from the Grant Rotary Club who have achieved this status include John Andreasen, Gregg Aten, Dennis Barkley, Rex Burge, Alberta Colglazier, Dr. EE Colglazier, Carol Kraus, Tim Meyer, Don Potts, and Brenda Styskal.
The Grant Rotarians meet each Wednesday at noon at the Perkins County Senior Center.