Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Reichert receives firemanship award PDF Print E-mail

Fred Reichert, Grant Volunteer Fire Department assistant chief, was awarded one of the 2011 Outstanding Firemanship Awards during the opening ceremonies of the annual Nebraska State Fire School Friday, May 20.
Reichert is in his 12th year in the Grant department and previously was a four-year member of the Raymond, Volunteer Fire Department.
While in the Grant Fire Department Reichert has held the positions of chief, captain and senior fire captain in addition to serving in his present position as assistant chief.
He is an emergency medical technician-ambulance and is a nationally certified firefighter 1.
The Outstanding Firemanship Award is given annually to 10 Nebraska firefighters. This award is in its 52nd year and is given by the Nebraska State Volunteer Firefighters Association.
Reichert becomes the 21st member of the Grant Fire Department to receive the Outstanding Firemanship Award. Others so honored are Grant Keller, Fred Upright, Toby Hansen, Gene Mitchem, Keith Ballantine, Paul Biggs, Wesley Wilson, Rodney Hutt, Donald Softley, Ken Pankonin, Robert Bounds, Billy Wilson, Steve Bliss, Ole Sihm, Bryan Kroeker, Rick Ochsner, Lewis Forbes, Larry Appel, Harlan Rahn and Wade Rahn.