Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Few changes among Nebraska legislative committee heads PDF Print E-mail

LINCOLN (AP) — Nebraska’s legislative committee heads will look much the same as last year.

Lawmakers elected committee leaders Wednesday as one of the Legislature’s first orders of business for the new session.

Changes included state Sen. Kathy Campbell of Lincoln being elected chairwoman of the Health and Human Services Committee. She replaces former state Sen. Tim Gay, who did not seek re-election.

Also, state Sen. Jeremy Nordquist of Omaha was elected over state Sen. Mike Gloor of Grand Island as chairman of the Nebraska Retirement Systems Committee. Nordquist has served as vice chairman of the committee for two years and was once a research analyst for the group.

Nordquist replaces state Sen. Dave Pankonin of Louisville who said other commitments would not afford him the time he needed to serve as chairman.