Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

CattleWomen present awards for 2010 PDF Print E-mail


Nebraska CattleWomen presented the following awards during the Annual Nebraska Cattlemen and CattleWomen convention held recently in Kearney.


Helping Hand Award

The Nebraska CattleWomen Helping Hand Award is given to an individual or organization outside the Nebraska CattleWomen membership who has contributed to the work of the Nebraska CattleWomen in an exemplary and voluntary manner.

This year’s “Helping Hand” Award was presented to Mark Spurgin of Paxton. CattleWomen have appreciated and valued his time and commitment that he has given to the beef industry by his way of serving consecutive terms on the Nebraska Beef Council Board of Directors. He also served as the Nebraska Cattlemen Ogallala Affiliate President for numerous years.

Over the past 10 years he has donated over 500 pounds of beef so that the Area 14 CattleWomen can serve meals for the American Red Cross blood drives that take place in Keith, Perkins and Arthur counties. Nebraska CattleWomen appreciate Mark for his support and dedication to the beef industry.

CattleWoman of the Year Award

The Nebraska CattleWoman of the year award is given to a member of the Nebraska CattleWomen who has contributed in an extraordinary manner to the beef industry.

This year’s recipient is Bonita Lederer from Pierce. Bonita joined Nebraska CattleWomen in 1995 and participated in the In-Store Promotion Program, becoming coordinator of the program in 2000. Bonita served as NCW president in 2006 and again in 2008.

She promoted the CattleWomen’s 60th Anniversary by developing a cookbook with recipes from all the past Cowbells and CattleWomen presidents.

She served as the American National CattleWomen education chairman for two years and developed the “Beef Across the United States” educational program.

She is currently employed by the Nebraska Cattlemen as the director of producer education and is involved with the Nebraska Beef Quality Assurance Program.

The Nebraska CattleWoman of the Year award is sponsored by Purina Mills.