Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

2009 Crop Assistance Program Signup deadline is Dec. 9 PDF Print E-mail

Certain Nebraska soybean producers may be eligible for program benefits available under the 2009 Crop Assistance Program (CAP).

Signup for the 2009 Crop Assistance Program began Oct. 25 and ends Dec. 9, according to Dan Steinkruger, State Executive Director of the Nebraska Farm Service Agency.

To be eligible, soybean acreage must be physically located in a county which received a secretarial disaster declaration due to excessive moisture or a related condition in 2009.

In Nebraska, this includes the following 11 counties: Banner, Box Butte, Buffalo, Cheyenne, Deuel, Hayes, Kimball, Morrill, Perkins, Platte, Valley

Producers with eligible soybean acreage must certify to FSA that they suffered a five percent or greater loss in quantity or quality of the 2009 crop.

This loss must be due to excessive moisture or related conditions.

Acreage that is physically located outside of the above designated counties will not be eligible for benefits under this program.

Producers should apply in the FSA county office that administers the applicable farm records.

The Crop Assistance Program is established with Section 32 funding to help restore purchasing power that was diminished by these 2009 losses. It does not reimburse producers for their level of crop loss.

Eligible producers may receive as much $15.62/acre. Payments will initially be disbursed at 75 percent of this rate.

Additional final payments will be determined and issued once signup is complete to ensure the available funding of $550 million nationwide is not exceeded. A $100,000 payment limitation applies.

Producers with questions regarding the 2009 Crop Assistance Program should contact their local Farm Service Agency office prior to the Dec. 9 deadline.