Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

May 11 Primary will decide hospital board and narrow commissioner candidates PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Rahn

Managing Editor

The May 11 Primary will determine who takes a seat on the Perkins County Hospital Board. 

It is the lone race decided at the primary—others will be weeded out or automatically advanced to the 2010 General Election in the fall.

Three seats are open on the hospital board, with the only two filings being incumbents Amanda McGreer and Brenda Kiolbasa.

The most contested races in this year’s election are for Perkins County Commissioners in both Districts 2 and 3.

Four candidates have filed for one seat in each of the two districts, and all eight are Republican candidates.

That means whoever wins the May 11 Primary Election advances to the November General Election. There are no Democratic candidates.

Profiles for the eight candidates appeared in last week’s issue of The Grant Tribune. 

Those vying for a county commissioner seat include:

District 2: Leon Pankonin (incumbent), Matt Waitley, James Vak and Kelvin Kurkowski.

District 3: James Deaver (incumbent), Ted Deaver, John Woodmancy and Darrell Pierce.

Another closely watched race for the fall election is that of the Perkins County Schools Board of Education.

Six non-incumbents have filed for one of the three open school board seats. 

Non-incumbent candidates for the primary are: Jill Pelster, Scott Osler, Amy Kroeker, Michaela Potts, Shawn Stutzman, Ryan Hendricks. All will advance to the November General Election.  

Unchallenged  on the county ticket are: County Assessor Bonnie Appel, County Attorney Richard Roberts, County Clerk Rita Long, County Treasurer Patsy Kroeker and County Sheriff James Brueggeman. 

Challenging Congressman Adrian Smith in Nebraska’s District 3 on the federal and state ticket is Republican Dennis Parker. The lone Democrat is Rebekah Davis.

Governor Dave Heineman is being challenged by fellow Republicans Paul Anderson and Christopher Geary. Whoever wins the May Primary will face off against Democrat Mark Lakers for governor of Nebraska.

Secretary of State candidates are Republican John Gale and Democrat Janet Stewart.

Vying for state treasurer are Republicans Don Stenberg, Tony Fulton and Tom Nesbitt, with one advancing to the general election to face Democrat Mark Stoj. 

Attorney General Jon Bruning is running unopposed, as is fellow Republican Mike Foley for state auditor. 

One Republican will advance to the general election for a six-year term as Public Service Commissioner. Candidates include incumbent Jerry Vap, Justin Jensen, Mike Delka, Kelly Rosberg, Duane Dufek and Christopher VanWinkle No Democrats have filed. 

State Senator Mark Christensen is being challenged by former senator Tom Baker in District 44 of the Legislature. Both advance to the November General Election. 

The City of Grant will fill seats for mayor and two council members during the fall election. Incumbent Mayor Mike Wyatt and council candidates Kirk York and Bob Tatum, both non-incumbents, have filed.

Other races coming up this fall during the November General Election include the State Board of Education, UNL Board of Regents, Mid-Plains Community College Board of Governors, Upper Republican Natural Resources District subdistrict 4, 8, 10 and at-large, ESU 16 in Districts 9 and 11, NPPD District 4, Village of Elsie, Village of Madrid and Village of Venango.

Incumbents for some of these seats have until July 15 to file and non-incuments must file by Aug. 2.