Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Non-incumbents must file for election by March 1 PDF Print E-mail

The Perkins County Clerk’s office will remain open until 5 p.m. on March 1 to accommodate those wishing to file.


By Jan Rahn

Managing Editor

The next deadline prior to the May 11 Primary is Monday, March 1—this marks the date for non-incumbent candidates to file for an open seat in county, city or village government.

The incumbent filing deadline was Tuesday, Feb. 16. Any incumbent who filed to retain their elected position has until March 1 to withdraw from the race.

Candidates vying for a seat as a village trustee or as a member of the Educational Service Unit or Natural Resource District board have more extended deadlines.

The incumbent deadline for these positions is July 15. Non-incumbents must file by Aug. 2 for the 2010 November Election.

Candidates entering the race for three positions on the Perkins County Hospital Board will be decided upon at the May 11 Primary. All other candidates will be elected in November. 

Each of the incumbents who currently holds an elected position in Perkins County government has refiled. 

They include: Attorney-Richard Roberts, assessor-Bonnie Appel, clerk-Rita Long, sheriff-James Brueggeman, treasurer-Patsy Kroeker, Dist. 2 Commissioner-Leon Pankonin, Dist. 3 Commissioner-James Deaver.

There are two open seats on Grant City Council currently held by Darrell Pierce and Dennis Hansen. Neither of them filed for another term. Pierce, instead, filed as to enter the Dist. 3 Commissioner race. 

Seats are also open for Village of Elsie, Village of Madrid, Village of Venango, Perkins County Schools, Upper Republican NRD Sub-District 4,8,10 and At-Large, ESU 16 in Districts 9 and 11, NPPD District 4, and Mid-Plains Community College Area 2.



May 11 Primary

Non-incumbent deadline: Monday, March 1.

Withdrawal: Incumbents filed have until March 1 to withdraw.

November General Election 

(Village Trustees/ESU)

Incumbent deadline: July 15

• Non-incumbent deadline: Aug. 2 



Candidates who have filed:

 Perkins County Attorney: Richard H. Roberts-incumbent

Perkins County Assessor: Bonnie Appel-incumbent

Perkins County Clerk: Rita Long, incumbent

Commissioner Dist. 2: Leon Pankonin-incumbent, Matt Waitley-non-incumbent, James Vak-non-incumbent

Commissioner Dist. 3: James Deaver-incumbent, Ted Deaver-non-incumbent, John Woodmancy-non-incumbent, Darrell Pierce-incumbent City Council.

City of Grant-Mayor: Michael Wyatt-incumbent

City of Grant-Council: No filings (two open seats)

Village of Elsie: Brenda Metcalf-incumbent (two open seats)

Village of Madrid: Michelle Ross-incumbent, Mark Heil-incumbent (two open seats)

Village of Venango: No filings (three open seats)

Perkins County Schools: Jill Pelster-non-incumbent, Scott Osler-non-incumbent (three open seats)

Perkins County Hospital Board: Amanda McGreer-incumbent, Brenda Kiolbasa-incumbent (three open seats)

Upper Republican NRD Sub-District 4,8,10 and At-Large: Dist. 2-Terry Martin-incumbent-Benkelman, Dist. 4-No filings, Dist. 6-Dean Large-incumbent-Wauneta-, Dist. 8-No filings, Dist 10-Greg Pelster-incumbent-Elsie, At Large-Jeff Wallin-incumbent-Imperial (six open seats)