Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Nebraska Soybean Board announces call for candidates PDF Print E-mail

Three of the nine district seats on the Nebraska Soybean Board (NSB) are eligible for election this year.  

Soybean producers in Districts 2, 4 and 8 are invited to run for election to the Nebraska Soybean Board by filing a candidacy petition by the May 14, 2010 deadline. 

The election of directors will be conducted via direct-mail ballots and candidate information will be provided to all producers residing within the district in which an election is to be held.

NSB directors receive no salary but are reimbursed for expenses incurred while carrying out board business.

Three-year terms for these seats begin Oct. 1, 2010 and end Sept. 30, 2013.Seats open for producer election in 2010 are:

District 2: Counties Burt, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Stanton, Thurston and Wayne.

District 4: Counties of Boone, Hamilton, Merrick, Nance, Platte, Polk and York.

District 8: Counties of Arthur, Banner, Blaine, Box Butte, Brown, Chase, Cherry, Cheyenne, Custer, Dawes, Dawson, Deuel, Dundy,  Frontier, Furnas, Garden, Garfield, Gosper, Grant, Greeley, Harlan, Hayes, Hitchcock, Hooker, Howard, Keith, Keya Paha, Kimball, Lincoln, Logan, Loup, McPherson, Morrill, Perkins, Phelps, Red Willow, Rock, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Sherman, Sioux, Thomas, Valley and Wheeler.

Candidates for the Nebraska Soybean Board must be:

• Residents of Nebraska

• At least 21 years of age

•  Soybean producers in Nebraska for at least five previous years.

Prospective candidates must collect the signatures of 50 soybean producers in their district using an official Nebraska Soybean Board Candidacy Petition and return such petition to the Nebraska Soybean Board office on or before May 14 to be eligible for placement on the ballot. 

To obtain a candidacy petition, contact Victor Bohuslavsky at the Nebraska Soybean Board by calling 402-432-5720 or emailing This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

The nine-member Nebraska Soybean Board collects and disburses the Nebraska share of funds generated by the one half of one percent times the net sales price per bushel of soybeans sold. 

Nebraska soybean checkoff funds are invested in research, domestic and foreign markets, including new uses for soybeans and soybean products.